Monday, September 3, 2012

Closing out Apps on your iPhone Does NOT Extend Battery Life

Like "playing whack-a-mole", tapping the little X's on the iPhone apps you see when you press the home button twice does not shut down a running app. Not sure where this misinformation got started!

Source: HuffingtonPost The 9 Biggest Tech Myths You Hear All The Time (But Are Absolutely Untrue)

"For a long time, the common wisdom held that in order to save battery life on the iPhone, we could just double-tap the home button and close out all the apps on the bottom tray that we weren't using. BLOOP BLOOP BLOOP: 'X' out of the apps, and battery would be saved.

Except, here's the thing: Those apps you see when you press the home button twice aren't actually running or using up any battery. As Fraser Speirs pointed out earlier this year, that row of icons is a list of recently used apps, NOT currently-running apps; when you hit the home button and exit an app, the iPhone automatically shuts it down after five seconds or so. Except in special cases (listed on Speirs' site), the app is not running nor eating up battery life.

Closing out apps might be dang satisfying -- it's like playing whack-a-mole! -- but it is almost certainly not preserving battery life."

But here is a BIG tip for making your iPhone battery life longer:

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License. This post has been scraped in violation of that license if you are reading this post on other than

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...